Chairman Rinaldi Statement on Texas House Rules Vote

Austin, TX, Release: January 12, 2022 — For Immediate Release

Republican Party of Texas Chairman Matt Rinaldi said: “Yesterday, the speaker of the Texas House showed utter contempt for Republican voters by refusing to even allow a vote on whether Democrats should be prohibited from holding powerful leadership positions. The fact that not even 10 Republicans would sign on to challenge this unlawful ruling is incredibly insulting to the 81% of GOP primary voters who supported the ballot resolution reserving leadership positions to Republicans and the GOP delegates who made banning Democrat chairs a top legislative priority of the party.

I would like to thank Tony Tinderholt, Bryan Slaton, Nate Schatzline, Mark Dorazio, Richard Hays, and Brian Harrison, who were the only members who were willing to force a vote banning Democrat chairs. The Republican Party will use every tool at its disposal, including Rule 44, to ensure we elect Republicans in the future who won’t voluntarily surrender political power to Democrats.” 


The post Chairman Rinaldi Statement on Texas House Rules Vote appeared first on Republican Party of Texas.

Leave a Comment

Translate »